Lunar eclipse tonight may highlight Draconid meteor shower


Starship Earth: The Big Picture

Total eclipse starts at 3:15 a.m. PT (6:15 a.m. ET) on Wednesday

CBC News Posted: Oct 07, 2014 5:00 AM ET Last Updated: Oct 07, 2014 5:00 AM ET

The moon turned brownish orange earlier this year during this eclipse on April 15, as seen from Los Angeles. The second total lunar eclipse in a series of four takes place early Wednesday morning. (Gene Blevins/Reuters)

The full moon will darken and grow reddish tonight during a total lunar eclipse that may help a fall meteor shower shine.

The edge of the Earth’s shadow will begin to pass over October’s full moon, traditionally called the Hunter’s Moon, at 1:15 a.m. PT or 4:15 a.m. ET. It will cover the moon for a total lunar eclipse starting 3:15 a.m. PT or 6:15 a.m. ET and lasting 59 minutes.

At that time, the moon…

View original post 559 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s